Civil War Battle Reenactment

Civil War Re-enactment Cannons

We did something very fun and really interesting this weekend. We went to a Civil War battle reenactment. I grew up in the South and have visited many historic Civil War battlefields, but I have never been a spectator to a reenactment, complete with period dress, mounted cavalry and cannon fire! I’m a total history buff…nerd actually…so I was loving all aspects of this performance. I also love photography and the photo opportunities here were plentiful!

Civil War Reenactment

Civil War Re-enactment LincolnCivil War Re-enactment Confederate SoldierCivil War Re-enactment Lee

It was plain to see the volunteers were all very passionate about their history. They were quite knowledgeable about the people and the battle they were portraying. They were also generous with their time, explaining the artillery, equipment and details about their group. There was also a mock camp set up with other period activities to learn about.

Civil War ReenactmentCivil War ReenactmentCivil War Reenactment Civil War Re-enactment (8)

Civil War Reenactment

Civil War Reenactment                  Civil War Reenactment                 Civil War Reenactment

Even though much of this was beyond my three year old daughter’s understanding, my hubby and I were excited to take her to see this. My love of history started with my parents taking me to historic places when I was little.  There were many things at this event that she had never experienced before and I could see the wheels turning! That evening when we talked about our day, she could recount many things she saw, such as cannons and horses. She was also excited to look through my pictures and with those I introduced her to the names of Abraham Lincoln and General Lee. So, in my book this was a 100% successful homeschool (weekend) day! I firmly believe that seeing “living history” like this is very exciting and engaging for kids of all ages. I really hope we can catch another performance from this group again. They put on an exciting and educational show!

2 thoughts on “Civil War Battle Reenactment

  1. Oh my gosh, this looks like so much fun! I would love to take my kids to something like this when we get to that time period in history. Your pictures look like they’re straight out of the movie “Sweet Home Alabama”. 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 I hope you get the chance to see one! Every kid there was incredibly interested in the whole show, especially the boys! I never saw a name for this group but if I manage to find out and see their schedule I will post a follow up! Take care!

Leave a Reply

