Homemade Mayo

I have been making my own mayonnaise for a few months now. It’s so quick and easy and I know exactly what’s in it, unlike the stuff you buy at the grocery store. I have even convinced my Miracle Whip loving Hubby to go homemade. He now happily eats it and I’m even complimented on it!

It’s a pretty basic recipe base that is very adaptable to additions of herbs and spices. I have added parsley and garlic, separately and together. I can imagine a chili powder would make a great spicy mayo too. The options are limitless!

 

Ingredients:

2 eggs (room temp)

Juice form 1/2 a lemon (or 1 to 2 tsp red wine vinegar)

Light olive oil

salt & pepper to taste

 

Add all ingredients, except olive oil to a blender or food processor. Mix on high and slowly drizzle olive oil into the processor. The key is slowly, so the oil and egg can incorporate. Keep adding oil until the mixture becomes semi solid and clings to the side of the bowl. I usually have to stop and do a visual check to get the desired consistency. Pour into a clean jar. Keeps in the fridge for about 7-10 days. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

